Heritage Bank’s Photographic Awards winners announced

The 25th Heritage Bank Photographic Awards has been hugely popular with a 20-fold increase in entries compared with previous years.

Heritage Bank CEO Mr John Minz said a spike in numbers was expected because, for the first time, entries could be made online and were free. However, the extent of the competition’s success had been amazing.

“The calibre of the entries has been outstanding and the judges have had a tough time to choose the top 50 photographs from the 2,800 entries,” Mr Minz said.

“It’s really brought home what a valued competition this is with so much talent and enthusiasm from entrants as young as seven on display.

“Heritage is very proud that this photography competition is one of the longest running and richest in Australia, with $8,000 in prize money on offer.

“What’s equally as important though is the opportunity the competition gives photographers from any background to show their skill and creativity on a national stage.”

This year, Heritage has purchased the top three entries to become part of its corporate art collection – arguably one of the best in the country.

Brisbane photographer Adrian Bailey won the open section with his photograph “High Tide”, while Sydney entrant Annette Blattman won the “Entertainment – Life’s a Stage” themed section with her entry “Water Show”. The CEO’s Choice award went to Burwood photographer Darren Kwok for “Contemplation”.

The top 50 images are now on display in an exhibition at the USQ Arts Gallery in Toowoomba until 12 July 2013.

A full list of winners is on the next page.


For more information: Andrew Fox, Heritage Manager Corporate Communications, 0419 714 204

2013 Heritage Bank Photographic Awards Winners

Open section

Winner                              Adrian Bailey (Kedron, Qld)                 “High Tide”
Runner-up                        Christopher Nobs (Drayton, Qld)             “Enjoy Life”
Highly commended         David Tomek (Caroline Springs, Vic)     “A Walk in the Woods”
Encouragement                James Lu (Merrylands, NSW)                 “MS Colour Run”

“Entertainment – Life’s a Stage” themed section

Winner                               Annette Blattman (St Mary’s, NSW)     “Water Show”
Runner-up                         James Lu (Merrylands)                         “Joyful Party”
Highly commended           Kerry Boytell (Mosman, NSW)             “He’s a Funny Fellow”
Encouragement                 Kate Holmes (Bangalow, NSW)             "Fountain of Youth”

CEO’s Choice

Winner                             Darren Kwok (Burwood, NSW)                 “Contemplation”

Bruce Mackenzie Memorial Youth Award

Winner                                Amy Segec (Sugarloaf Creek, Vic)        “Ostrich and Friend”

Youth Category (7-9 years)

Winner                                 Damon Tomlins (Gladstone, Qld)         “U2 Tribute Concert”

Youth Category (10-13 years)

Winner                             Amy Segec (Sugarloaf Creek, Vic)         “Ostrich and Friend”

Youth Category (14-17 years)

Winner                             Molly Grace (Ferny Grove, Qld)                “Leap for the Stars”

* Based on a $150,000 loan over 25 years. WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the examples given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate.